[vc_row][vc_column width=”5/6″][vc_column_text]UFP was established by Flamingo Land, who manage the project with assistance from the University of York Environment Department through CIRCLE. The work of UFP is guided by a Steering Committee, who advise the UFP Director on project strategy and objectives.

UFP Steering Committee

Mark Bainbridge [Kilombero Sugar Company]

Dr. Nancy Barrickman [Waterloo University, Canada]

Prof. Larry Gorenflo [Pennsylvania State University, USA]

Dr. Rob Marchant [University of York]

Andrew Melton [Flamingo Land]

Charles Meshack B.Sc. M.Res. [Tanzania Forest Conservation Group]

Dr. Deo Shirima [Sokoine University of Agriculture]


United Bank of Carbon

In 2013, UFP joined forces with the United Bank of Carbon to improve capacity for its environmental education work in Tanzania and in the UK. The objectives for this work are as follows:

(1) Improving Tanzanian village capacity for forest conservation, income generation, and control of damaging bushfires;

(2) Establishing a handicraft business for sale of items to UK retailers, to improve income in areas of forest conservation;

(3) Outreach to UK schools through rainforest education and a competition to name a new species of tree discovered by UFP.

UBoC and UFP are now seeking funding for development of core infrastructure for the work of UFP, in particular the development of a field research/education centre, project vehicle, and facilities/information for tourists in and around the focal forest of Magombera.

Kilombero Sugar Company

UFP also works closely with the Kilombero Sugar Company, part-owners of Magombera forest, who carry out ranger patrols, and provide various other forms of logistical support.

Other Partners

Our other collaborators include Pennsylvania State University (USA), University of Waterloo (Canada), WWF Tanzania Programme Office, Tanzania Forest Conservation Group, Tanzania Wildlife Research Institute, Tanzania Commission for Science and Technology, Udzungwa Ecological Monitoring Centre, and most importantly the four local villages of Kanyenja, Katurukila, Magombera, and Msolwa Stesheni.[/vc_column_text][/vc_column][vc_column width=”1/6″][vc_single_image image=”932″ img_link_target=”_self”][vc_wp_custommenu nav_menu=”9″][/vc_column][/vc_row]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.